Wildlife Protection Laws

Wildlife Protection Laws 

The different governments have been at the forefront of ensuring that wildlife is protected. Various laws have been set to ensure enaction and enforcement of the laws. According to Alexander Djerassi, several laws have been set in the previous years. The enacting of the laws was done at the state level, while the enforcement of the laws was done at the federal level. States enforce the laws through the police, wildlife protection agencies, and wildlife conservation departments. The law is enforced by giving fines and penalties to those found guilty of violating it.

Animal Welfare Act

The animal welfare act was adopted in 1966 and served as the primary federal animal protection law. Djerassi explains that the act primarily serves the laboratory, zoo animals, and animals being bred commercially and sold, as with puppy mills. The act covers several other animals, and it provides how to enforce the law. The Animal Welfare Act gives authority to the Fish and Wildlife Service, the U.S. Department of Agriculture, and the National Marine Fisheries Service to inspect facilities involved in animal handling and selling.

Endangered Species Act

President Richard Nixon, in 1973, signed into law The Endangered Species Act. Alexander explains that this act requires that a federal agency approves any action that could impact endangered species. It also provides for several safeguards for those who are not involved in harming an endangered species but may be affected by its presence, such as development or transportation of endangered species; it also requires that there is no harm to any endangered species caused by commercial activities such as logging or mining activities. This act has been instrumental in protecting endangered species, including the gray wolf, bald eagle, American alligator, American flamingo, American crocodile, and others.

The PACT (Preventing Animal Cruelty and Torture) Act

The act makes some cruel actions being directed to animals such as crushing, burning, suffocating, drowning, sexual exploitation, or impaling within the territories of the United States a federal crime. The act inhibited the distribution of videos crushing animals, and it also prohibited the killing of animals for any purpose except hunting and fishing.

Wildlife Performance Bans

Some states have prohibited the use of wildlife in performances. The American Humane Association has issued a list of these states. Illinois and Newyork were at the forefront in setting the law to protect animals.

The Marine Mammal Protection Act

The act prohibits the taking of marine mammals in harmful ways to their health or well-being. The act also prohibits the sale or purchase of marine mammals. Alexander explains that the Endangered Species Act also protects these animals.
Alexander Djerassi further explains that the laws have been instrumental in protecting some endangered species and have been instrumental in enforcing these laws. However, there are still several areas where enforcement of the laws is needed. For example, some laws are not being enforced at the state level, and some acts have not been enacted at the federal level, which could negatively impact the environment.